No matter how often you think you are right, your are almost always wrong.
Hear me out.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when your keys are missing?

Who stole my keys?

I was in Starbucks this morning and all of a sudden the internet stopped working.
My first reaction: “Darn it Starbucks. Why can’t you just get a decent wireless router?”

Turns out that the router was fine. The real problem was I forget to turn off my proxy which was routing traffic from from my browser to Fiddler. My fault.

It’s comical how quick we are to blame others for things that are our fault.

Tannis (my wife) and I were once utterly convinced there was a gang of Potato thieves operating out of Hidden Valley (our first community). Why?

Because one day when we went into the garage to get our bag of farm fresh potatoes they were missing. Someone took our potatoes! We couldn’t believe it.

We instantly dubbed this nefarious gang of potato grubbers : “The Hidden Valley Potato Thieves”

Yes, we actually thought people broke into our garage, walked past the bikes, roller blades, tools, and went right for the most valuable thing in our garage—the potatoes.
Who wouldn’t right?

Now whenever something goes missing in the house (you’ll know what I mean if you kids) we mocking cry: “The Hidden Valley Potato Thieves have stuck again”.

So the next time you are convinced someone (or something like a computer) has wronged you, instead of blaming others try changing your default position to “what did I do wrong” and go from there.

It hurts the pride, and your ego won’t like it one bit (mine doesn’t), but 9/10 you will solve your problem faster and be able to get on with your day.